How do people do this??
Jun. 14th, 2004 12:12 amHad to let Fox cry it out tonight for the first time ever. He's teething badly and he's been really clingy since he was sick earlier this week. I'm feeling guilty but tired and about to go to bed myself.
We're having major money troubles :( I knew that we really couldn't afford last week's trip to Dallas, but dh threw a fit when I told him so - so I shut up and figured we'd manage somehow.
So our electric bill is somehow $70 higher than last months (WTF - we had it turned OFF for a week when we were out of town??) and some unexpected medical expenses have come up (we had to stockpile some prescriptions since dh is dropping me off his insurance - otherwise it will triple this month)
Basically we're $150 in the hole. And our families are all having their own financial difficulties (MIL and FIL are both out of work and my folks are disabled w/o savings), so we're on our own. Did I mention our meager savings are completely gone after having to get a car to replace our dead one? Roomie leaving did not help either...
Guess I'll have to find a way to go back to work part time now, but I can only work Tuesdays, Thursday and weekends since those are the only days my parents could babysit...Maybe I can take care of someone else's kids along with my baby and not have to leave him at all. I refuse to crawl back to the b*stard company that let me go because I was pregnant. Anyway, we don't think dh will have a position there much longer himself...
Sometimes being a grown up REALLY sucks :(
We're having major money troubles :( I knew that we really couldn't afford last week's trip to Dallas, but dh threw a fit when I told him so - so I shut up and figured we'd manage somehow.
So our electric bill is somehow $70 higher than last months (WTF - we had it turned OFF for a week when we were out of town??) and some unexpected medical expenses have come up (we had to stockpile some prescriptions since dh is dropping me off his insurance - otherwise it will triple this month)
Basically we're $150 in the hole. And our families are all having their own financial difficulties (MIL and FIL are both out of work and my folks are disabled w/o savings), so we're on our own. Did I mention our meager savings are completely gone after having to get a car to replace our dead one? Roomie leaving did not help either...
Guess I'll have to find a way to go back to work part time now, but I can only work Tuesdays, Thursday and weekends since those are the only days my parents could babysit...Maybe I can take care of someone else's kids along with my baby and not have to leave him at all. I refuse to crawl back to the b*stard company that let me go because I was pregnant. Anyway, we don't think dh will have a position there much longer himself...
Sometimes being a grown up REALLY sucks :(
no subject
Date: 2004-06-14 10:24 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-06-14 10:26 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-06-14 10:28 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-06-14 11:36 am (UTC)Could you really help babysit if I found something during those times? I wouldn't be able to pay much but I'm not sure what to do right now and daycare would wipe out what little I'll make. I'm calling around today to see if anything is open....call me sometime...
no subject
Date: 2004-06-14 05:48 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2004-06-23 12:54 am (UTC)Our recent bill was $238 X_____________X
We barely keep any lights on in the house, the AC is set at a decent temp to where its not running all the time, and we have the ceiling fans on to keep it cool in the house. So it seems that the pool and the AC is going to kill us now.
My mom asked if there wasn't a way we could get on a budget plan but I don't know how that works or even if its applicable for us cause of what we use. *sighs and curses bills*
And since the both of us hardly EVER go to the doc's, we are blessed with his insurance (though my work offers it too but I heard that they are a bunch of cheap asses and their plan screws ppl over). We got the statement from our insurance as to what my doc. bill was (though we only have to pay $20 co-pay). I couldn't BELIEVE this shit they charge at a doc's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I went in to get my feet checked out since my heels have been bothering me.
2 x-rays
blood work (they did that automatically just to check on things)
and the visit
came out to about $200 and some.
The visit charge was $75!!!!!!!!!! >______<, the x-rays were about $65 each, and the blood work/lab stuff, hmmm.... I want to say about $100 or so. How can ppl afford to even GO anymore??!!! They might as well provide you with the knife and just kill yourself instead of having to pay their outrageous bills. But then, I'd hate to see the charge they'd give you for the knife.
Just bothered to check comments ;)
Date: 2004-06-27 11:07 pm (UTC)About the insurance, I understand. We're STILL paying off hospital bills for ds' birth. I had a vaginal birth with no complications and we're still responsible for about $800 of it (of course the hospital charger over $10,000. Explain to be why the 1 maxi pad I used the day after giving birth cost $28?) $300 of that is JUST for an epidural, which is not covered by insurance at all because it was "not medically necessary" - maybe not but I considered pain relief necessary!